Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here


Sponsor Ads

Author Topic: Trendell Shakes Monkey For First Win Of Season At Full Throttle  (Read 659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 15707
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Trendell Shakes Monkey For First Win Of Season At Full Throttle
« on: September 15, 2015, 08:40:38 AM »

Trendell Shakes Monkey For First Win Of Season At Full Throttle

By Clayton Johns

VARNEY, Ont. (September 14, 2015) – Steve Trendell (No.57 Combined Auto & Truck Repair) survived hard contact and outdueled Ben Charbonneau (No.2 Steve Scherer Chevrolet) over the final two laps to claim his first Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modified Series win of the season at Full Throttle Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 12.

Cassidy March (No.25 H&M Auto) and Charbonneau brought the field to the green flag for the 25-lap main event. March jumped to a quick start and set a blistering pace early on. The night, however, ended early for March as the power plant exploded on his No.25 just four laps in the race.

Following a lengthy clean-up, Charbonneau and Brian Atkinson (No.92b Performance Plus Automotive) restarted on the front row with 21 laps remaining. Trendell quickly worked past Atkinson and set out to track down Charbonneau.

On lap 6, Trendell used a power move to the outside of Charbonneau entering turn one to take the lead down the rounded back stretch. In clean air, Trendell began to walk away from the rest of the field over the next 15 laps.

The advantage was erased on lap 21, however, as things got interesting. The caution flew for Rick Schurr (No.36 Challenger Valve) who spun in turn three. On the ensuing restart, contact between front row runners Trendell and Jason Keen (No.18 Oakville Automotive & Diesel) resulted in the No.57 turned in front of the field. Atkinson slammed in to the right side of Trendell’s car, ending the night for the No.92 team.

The incident gave the lead back to Charbonneau, but Trendell darted past John Karley (No.19j Georgetown Printing) for the second-spot on the restart. The next lap, Trendell again went to the outside of Charbonneau. The two drivers battled wheel-to-wheel two laps before Trendell narrowly edged Charbonneau for his first win of the season.

In qualifying heat race action, Trendell claimed the first head after taking the lead from March on lap three. Keen used a last lap pass to steal a win from Charbonneau in heat two.

The Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modified Series will conclude its 2015 season and determine the club champion next Saturday, September 19 at Flamboro Speedway. Complete event and ticket information is available at


Complete Results

Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modifieds – September 12, 2015 – Full Throttle Motor Speedway

Feature (25 Laps – 9 Entries): 1. 57 Steve Trendell, 2. 2 Ben Charbonneau. 3. 18 Jason Keen, 4. 36r Rick Schurr, 5. 19j John Karley, 6. 88 Jeremy Riopelle, 7. 33 Ian Burney, 8. 92b Brian Atkinson (DNF), 9. 25 Cassidy March (DNF).

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1.57 Steve Trendell, 2. 25 Cassidy March, 3. 88 Jeremy Riopelle, 4. 33 Ian Burney, 5. 19j John Karley.

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 18 Jason Keen, 2. 2 Ben Charbonneau, 3. 92b Brian Atkinson, 4. 36r Rick Schurr.

Mechanics’ Race: 1. 36 Gary Colling, 2. 88 Glenn Colling, 3. 50 Shaun Pascoe, 4. 57 Dave Trendell, 5. 6 Tim Fox, 6. 2 Ryan Eade, 7. 38 Aaron Hood, 8. 09 Joe Robertson, 9. 18 Randy Keen, 10. 92 Ian Gibson, 11. 25 Mike March.

Point Standings as of September 13, 2015 (Top-10 – Includes Drop Night): 1. 18 Jason Keen 729 points, 2. 57 Steve Trendell 724, 3. 88 Jeremy Riopelle 691, 5. 2 Ben Charbonneau 680, 5. 15 TJ Marshall/Steve Lyons 674; 6. 92 Brian/Joe Atkinson/Sean Gibson 672, 7. 25 Cassidy March 638, 8. 36 Rick Schurr/Steve March 533, 9. 38 Dustin Hood 509, 10. 00 Ron Easton/Jason Bowden 490.

Winners To Date (2015 Season): 4 – 15 TJ Marshall (August 15 – Flamboro Speedway, August 1 – Flamboro Speedway, July 24 – Delaware Speedway, July 11 – Flamboro Speedway); 2 – 18 Jason Keen (July 18 – Sunset Speedway, May 23 – Sunset Speedway); 1 – 57 Steve Trendell (September 12 – Full Throttle Motor Speedway); 1 – 15 Steve Lyons (August 22 – Sauble Speedway); 1 – 92 Brian Atkinson (July 4 – Sauble Speedway); 1 – 2 Ben Charbonneau (June 20 – Flamboro Speedway); 1 – 88 Jeremy Riopelle (May 16 – Flamboro Speedway).


Follow the Canadian Vintage Modifieds 2015 season on social media by following @VintageMods on Twitter and joining the series Facebook group, Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modifieds.

The Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modifieds 2015 season is presented by a number of important corporate partners, including: Lucas Oil, Creative Edge Signs and Graphics, B&B Decals, Flamboro Machine Shop, Wiersma Trucking, Young Drives of Canada, Georgetown Printing, MacMaster Buick GMC, Oakville Trailer & Auto Service, Oakville Auto and Diesel Machine Shop, Grisdale Racing Products, OKTANE Productions, and Clayton Johns Media.

Media Contact: Clayton Johns Media

Photo Credit: Derek Smith

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=21953.msg114476#msg114476
Canadian Racing Archive Project.

Trendell Shakes Monkey For First Win Of Season At Full Throttle
« on: September 15, 2015, 08:40:38 AM »


HTML ezBlock

Powered by EzPortal