Canadian Oval / Road Racing => Canadian Racing Forums => Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour => Topic started by: CanadianRacingOnline on July 16, 2017, 06:15:44 AM

Post by: CanadianRacingOnline on July 16, 2017, 06:15:44 AM


(Antigonish, NS- July 16, 2017) – Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) made a life-long dream a reality by winning the John W. Chisholm Memorial Cup at the IWK 250 at Riverside International Speedway this evening. The stacked field included drivers from six provinces and three states. Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) battled Blenkhorn all the way to the checkers but came up just short. Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay, NS) plowed through the field during the second half of the event and finished in the final spot on the podium. Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) and Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) completed the top five.

Competition got underway with five Atlantic Tiltload Heat Races for the 38 competitors vying to make the 30 car field. Heat races were won by Jason Hathaway (Uxbridge, ON), Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS), Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), Kyle Reid (Fort MacMurray, AB) and George Koszkulics (New Glasgow, NS). Jarrett Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) won the Atlantic Tiltload B Feature.

Twenty cars qualified for the prestigious event via heat races. Cars who did not qualify through their heat then competed in a 25 lap last chance race with the top two securing their positions on the starting grid. The remaining eight positions were determined by provisionals as set in the event procedures. Receiving a provisional to make the elite starting field were Kent Vincent (Crapaud, PE), Darren MacKinnon (Charlottetown, PE), Nicholas Naugle (Dartmouth, NS), Stephen Lively (Shubenacadie, NS), Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), Gary Elliott (Dundas, ON), Josh Collins (Placentia, NL) and John Flemming (Halifax, NS).

NASCAR legend Mark Martin (Batesville, AR) had a rough start to the day after hitting the wall hard during afternoon practice doing significant damage to the car. The 17 crew battled and were able to get the Cat Car for Kids into the starting grid but their issues continued into the evening.  Martin pitted on Lap 57 but was unable to return to the race due to extensive mechanical issues.

The Exide Batteries Rookie of the Race went to Jarrett Butcher. The King Freight Lines Future Winner Award was won by Collins who finished ninth. Blenkhorn pocketed the Linde Most Laps Led Award, pacing the field for 184 of the 250 circuits.

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is in action next weekend for the Irving Oil Blending & Packaging 150 at Petty International Raceway, located just outside on Moncton NB. Visit for complete event details and coverage.

About Steve Lewis Auto Body:

Steve Lewis Auto Body is located on Beech Street in Sydney. The company is in their 39th year of business and proud to support many community and charitable efforts, including over a 15-year involvement with the IWK. Call them at 902.539.2848.

About the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour:

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (PST) is considered the highest level of stock car racing in Canada. The Tour is recognized in the industry as one of the healthiest stock car racing series in North America. PST visits five tracks throughout the Maritimes during its May through September season. The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited. For more information, call our administration office at 902.481.2531 or click . You can also follow us on Twitter at and like us on Facebook at