Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here


Sponsor Ads

Author Topic: Award’s Banquet Wraps-up Another Successful Kawartha Season  (Read 649 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 15714
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Award’s Banquet Wraps-up Another Successful Kawartha Season
« on: January 17, 2012, 01:01:44 PM »
Award’s Banquet Wraps-up Another Successful Kawartha Season
By Jim Clarke, Kawartha Speedway PR/Clarke Motorsports Communications – With a collection of bright, sparkling trophies waiting to be handed-out, Kawartha Speedway’s drivers and teams gathered to celebrate the 2011 season Saturday, January 14th.  A crowd of more than 300 was on hand in the converted dining room under the track’s main grandstand for a sumptuous buffet dinner, followed by the presentation of class awards to Dan McHattie, Ken Donaldson Jr. and ‘Too’ Moroney for their championships in the NAPA Auto Parts ACT Late Model, Better Carpet Thunder Car and Hasiuk Trailer and Container Rental Mini Stock divisions respectively.  For McHattie, it was his 7th title in the track’s 11 year history.  Donaldson and Moroney each claimed their first crowns.

On-line voting – on the track’s web-site, Facebook and Twitter – was used to decide the annual winners for rookie of the year, most improved and most sportsmanlike drivers in each regular division.

Three wins and a 7th place finish in points earned the rookie of the year honours for mini stocker Alex Lees.  A track championship and 5 trips to victory lane saw Ken Donaldson Jr. claim the thunder car prize, while 50 year-old Bryan Watts – who finished his freshman season just outside the top 10 in points – took home the late model trophy.

His first main event wins since 2006 – including a history making run in the year’s Summer Sizzler – saw Bryan Mercer pick-up the most improved driver award for the late model division.  Back to back trips to victory lane – the first wins of his career – earned the same prize for thunder car racer Andy Ford.  Brad Martin’s inaugural visit to the winner’s circle – in a 50 lap invitational on fan appreciate night – saw the Plainville, Ontario sophomore take the mini stock accolades.

A smooth running Dwight Brown – who picked-up a pair of 2011 main event wins – saw the Beeton, Ontario racer take the most sportsmanlike late model driver hardware.  Steve Mayhew – easily the most experienced campaigner at the track – earned the statuette in the thunder car class, while Mike Nelson – who won last year’s track championship – was named the most sportsmanlike mini stock driver for the year.

The dedicated pit crew award for 2011 was earned by the thunder car team of the #28, driven by Howie Crowe, Jr. and in a contingency draw – sponsored by 5 Star Racecar Bodies – Better Carpet Thunder Car driver Josh Gruntz and NAPA Auto Parts ACT Late Model runner Bryan Mercer each earned a $500 gift certificate toward the purchase of a new body for their respective rides.

Track Promoter/General Manager Derek Lynch took the podium to close-out the night’s festivities.  He congratulated everyone on a successful 2011 campaign and spoke briefly on the upcoming season, before announcing 2011 late model champion Dan McHattie as the winner of the annual president’s award.  In accepting the honour, McHattie praised Lynch and the entire Kawartha team.

“I’ve been racing in Ontario for more than 20 years and I can’t think of a single facility where I’d rather run.  If Derek called me next week and told me we were running garbage cans when the season opened, I’d start building one,” said McHattie, to the applause of the crowd.

Kawartha klips:  Next on the agenda for the Fraserville, Ontario 3/8th miler will be the 3rd running of the Long John 200 Endurance event Sunday, February 5th.  The track will also participate in the Canadian Motorsports Expo – presented by Inside Track Motorsports News – February 10th, 11th and 12th at the International Centre in Toronto.  Full show details can be found at…Friday night action for 2012 gets underway with an open practice session May 25th.  The season opener is Friday, June 1st.  Fans can visit to see the complete schedule.

Prepared by: 
Jim Clarke – Clarke Motorsports Communications
613.968.6410  /  613.922.0654

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=14663.msg99961#msg99961
Canadian Racing Archive Project.

Award’s Banquet Wraps-up Another Successful Kawartha Season
« on: January 17, 2012, 01:01:44 PM »


HTML ezBlock

Powered by EzPortal