Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here

+-

Sponsors Ads

Author Topic: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?  (Read 4444 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AutoAssembler

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • http://www.rpeer.com
Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« on: December 30, 2007, 12:37:06 AM »
I didn't know where to post this, so I guess this is as good a place as any?

I'm trying to setup a new wheel I got today, it's a Logitech Momo Racing Force Feedback Wheel to Papyrus NASCAR Racing 3 installed on a Windows XP computer. I've got it working pretty good, but still have a few bugs to work out.

1.) I can get it to shift up and down with the shifter if I use my administrator's account, but I prefer to use a user account that has limited permissions and the shifter won't work for some reason. I have to resort to using the buttoms on the wheel to shift???

2.) The steering wheel seems off too, driving down the straightway it always seems cranked to the left???

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37578#msg37578
Randy

-----------------------------------------
2008: DIS, NSS, Cayuga, Ste. Eustache, Barrie, Mosport, Kawartha, Sun Valley, Edmonton, Trois Rivieres, Circuit Villeneuve, Riverside.

CanadianRacingOnline.com

Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« on: December 30, 2007, 12:37:06 AM »

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 14649
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2007, 01:07:53 AM »
Do you have the latest drivers for this? Is there a config for the wheel? If I recall most logitech joysticks come with a config program. Also is there a settings in the game to change the controller or the settings?

I had to change mine as had problems with the gas and break pedals in the config of the game.



Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37582#msg37582
Canadian Racing Archive Project.
http://www.canadianracingarchives.com/

Offline AutoAssembler

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • http://www.rpeer.com
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2007, 03:08:07 AM »
Do you have the latest drivers for this?

I'll have to check into new drivers Evan, right now, it's one of those deals, like a lot of Windows programs, that work in the admin account for XP but not the limited user accounts.

I'll check to see what config files there are too. See if there's a difference beween the user accounts? Maybe it's just as simple as copying the config files from the admin account to the other accounts???

Sometimes, I've found too, if you allow file sharing permissions in the problem program, it allows other user accounts the ability to use them? Right now I can bring up a Logitech Profile from the admin account that won't execute from the user accounts, so that might be a work around???

I'll have to check the FAQ's at Logitech too I guess, I just thought that perhaps someone here as come across this hickup and knows of a quick fix?

Thanks for the ideas Evan, I'll keep plugging away at it.

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37585#msg37585
Randy

-----------------------------------------
2008: DIS, NSS, Cayuga, Ste. Eustache, Barrie, Mosport, Kawartha, Sun Valley, Edmonton, Trois Rivieres, Circuit Villeneuve, Riverside.

CanadianRacingOnline.com

Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2007, 03:08:07 AM »

Offline racenut

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 264
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2007, 09:00:42 AM »
 I have a logitech wheel thats about 7-8 years old and like Evan stated, it had config. and/or auto setup program that automatically setup and calibrated the controls. Also, some games have better force feedback programs than others. The best one I had was Viper Racing.
 
 Or, just stop crashing and your alignment won't get buggered up. lol

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37586#msg37586

Offline 3-Wide

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2007, 12:39:14 PM »
I have/had to manual configure mine.....more then once, as for the off-set thing, that's the way the game is made, to not have you "work as hard as you turn" according to the booklet even real nascar drivers have it off-set to the right on strights (and I believe I hurd on t.v that some drivers do in-fact have it like that)

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37590#msg37590
"RaceTracks are my 2nd Home"
"I'm a Short-Track junkie"

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 14649
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2007, 08:10:20 PM »
I think I know what he was talking about as soon as I took my car out of the pits and onto the track in seemed to turn left even though the wheel was streight.

I had to run the config from logitech and the I had to use the game config to configure the shift in the game config. It will work just takes a bit of playing with it.



Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37608#msg37608
Canadian Racing Archive Project.
http://www.canadianracingarchives.com/

Offline gwatson

  • Team Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 151
    • http://www.watsonracing.ca
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2007, 10:01:15 PM »
The latest logitech driver is at www.oscaarsim.ca - you'll have to register on the site, then go to File Download, Game Files, Misc Files - and its the lgs460 file - most of the guys running the momo wheel use this.

Good luck!

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37620#msg37620

Offline AutoAssembler

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • http://www.rpeer.com
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2007, 10:16:32 PM »
The latest logitech driver is at www.oscaarsim.ca -

Thanks Gord, for the fantastic link. For sure I'll check into it. Gotta do something to keep amused from now till spring. ;)
Thanks again!

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37622#msg37622
Randy

-----------------------------------------
2008: DIS, NSS, Cayuga, Ste. Eustache, Barrie, Mosport, Kawartha, Sun Valley, Edmonton, Trois Rivieres, Circuit Villeneuve, Riverside.

Offline hurr15

  • Pit Crew
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2007, 07:50:23 AM »
have you got world of outlaws sprintcar for youre wheel?????

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37632#msg37632

Offline AutoAssembler

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • http://www.rpeer.com
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2007, 08:57:40 AM »
have you got world of outlaws sprintcar for youre wheel?????

No, is it pretty good, hurr15?

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37633#msg37633
Randy

-----------------------------------------
2008: DIS, NSS, Cayuga, Ste. Eustache, Barrie, Mosport, Kawartha, Sun Valley, Edmonton, Trois Rivieres, Circuit Villeneuve, Riverside.

Offline hurr15

  • Pit Crew
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2007, 10:36:57 AM »
It Is the best game I have ever played,   amazing realistic graffix.. I give it a 10+

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37640#msg37640

Offline AutoAssembler

  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • http://www.rpeer.com
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2007, 04:00:06 PM »
I give it a 10+

I'll have to check it out, hurr15. Right now I'm playing Papyrus NASCAR Racing 3, and I'd like to pick up a copy of NASCAR 2003 that everyone's raving about.

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37671#msg37671
Randy

-----------------------------------------
2008: DIS, NSS, Cayuga, Ste. Eustache, Barrie, Mosport, Kawartha, Sun Valley, Edmonton, Trois Rivieres, Circuit Villeneuve, Riverside.

Offline gwatson

  • Team Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 151
    • http://www.watsonracing.ca
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2007, 04:10:16 PM »
Hey AutoAssembler,  If you are looking for sim games to play, check out Nascar Sim Racing  (NSR) by EA Sports.  It's a few years old but you can still pick up new copies of it off of ebay for around $10 - from what I have seen, NR2003 goes for well over $100. 

NSR has decent graphics, the cars drive pretty well and there's all kinds of mods out there from Nascar COT's, Trucks to Late Models.

If you go the NSR route, check out www.oscaarsim.ca - all the mods and online racing.

Good Luck - Glenn    (not Gord)

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37673#msg37673

Offline blaneyfan

  • Rookie Driver
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2008, 09:05:12 AM »
AutoAssembler, if you can get a copy of NR2003, it is still the SIM to get and use. Nobody has yet come up with anything close, and it is still the most popular sim racing game. As gwatson mentioned though, it can be pricey, I bought it as soon as it came out and it is the only video game I've ever had that has gone up in value! lol Usually the price completely nose dives after it's 6 months old.
 You can find it a little cheaper if you browse through some sim racing sites and look through the "classifieds" on those sites.

 There is a new game called "ARCA sim racing" and it is supposed to be going to be as good as NR2003, but it's in the early testing stages. There was a test the other night using the Milwaukee Mile and watching it, I do think it will be a good game as well.
 As I understand it, a number of the fellas that worked on NR2003, and lost their jobs when nascar gave the rights to EA Sports, and Papyrus went tits up.
EDIT: I just noticed the thread about the ARCA game after I submitted this, as mentioned in that thread, it does look like it will be a good one too.

 The beauty of NR2003 for me is all the mods that are available, like the Whelen Modifieds, Craftsman Trucks, BUSCH, COT, Trans-Am, IRL(which is really cool!), IROC, Late Models, ASA, Hooters Pro Cup, and a couple others. The CASCAR Mod is pretty good as well and whoever is responsible has done a pretty good job at putting some of the Canadian tracks in it like Delaware, Mosport(oval and Road), Cayuga, Flamboro, Peterborough, and someone is working on Kawartha now.
 As well there are lots of people keeping the game updated. Things like putting banking in at Homestead, Decals(swapping out Winston for Nextel), and scheduling updates.
 There is, I think, 4 physics configurations that are used for the various mods, but it is cool to play with the different series, and there is lots of online leagues for each mod.

If you want, or need some links to some excellent sites for this game, hit me up and I will pm ya a bunch of them. You really will be blown away with what is out there for this game.

I just got high speed out here in the sticks and going to take the online plunge in the new year, as soon as I get a new wheel. I've gone through 3 cheap ones since I bought the game, and am going to purchase a good one this time. I'm going for the Logitech G25 wheel this time. It's came down a lot in price and is supposed to be a really good wheel.
 I haven't used the momo you have got, but from all I read, it is a popular wheel and lots of guys are believers in it. At least I haven't seen anything negative to worry about.

I can't answer question #1 for you, other than to suggest getting the updated driver, as someone else mentioned.

For question #2, you need to learn to get used to it pulling to the left. If you want to be fast, it is going to pull like a bugger on the straights.

Good luck with it! I have gotten addicted over the last couple years, and I am really excited about finally getting online with it.  The Whelen Modifieds is my favorite and what I will usually be running online. ;D

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37719#msg37719
« Last Edit: January 01, 2008, 09:07:27 AM by blaneyfan »

Offline hurr15

  • Pit Crew
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Setting Up Logitech Wheel?
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2008, 01:53:14 PM »
Its the same for woo sprint car game, I race online all the time,    awesome game

Linkback: /smf/index.php?topic=7074.msg37728#msg37728

 


Sponsors Ad

site
stats

Powered by EzPortal