Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here

Author Topic: Sterling Silver Award and Triple Crown Series Finale among highlights  (Read 1685 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 15719
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.

Mat Williamson is the defending champion in the Spencer Memorial. (Photo-Julie Davidson)

Sterling Silver Award and Triple Crown Series Finale among highlights of Brian's Tire Repair Autograph Night

Thorold, Ontario – The Championship Chase for all of Merrittville Speedway's 5 Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series Divisions will conclude Saturday August 30th when Brian's Tire Repair presents Autograph Night and three history-laden events.

With the final point event for the Rick's Delivery Sportsman Division will have drivers in the run for the annual Sterling Silver Award – the Main Event for the Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modifieds will have the John Spencer Memorial up for grabs. Rain-delayed from Avondale Food Stores Night

– the overall points race for the Turn 4 Collision 4 Cylinders will conclude with the finale of the Triple Crown Series as well.
Rounding out the night are the Hoosier Stocks and the J&S Heating and Air Conditioning Modified Lites as well.
2014 is the 25th edition of the Sterling Silver Award and of all the previous winners - Cody McPherson, Brad Rouse and last year's winner Justin Sharp are still active in the division.

The Sterling Silver Award is an annual award created by former Sportsman Competitor Ken Walsh in 1990 after the St. Catharines resident got his start in racing and had so much help from Bill Willard Senior. Walsh's efforts honor his memory.
Beginning in the 1950's the Willard family got its start in the local racing scene when Bill Willard Senior quickly became an accomplished car owner for drivers including Don Taylor, Bev MacTavish, Stan Friesen, George Winger and Terry Edwards while at the same time providing towing service through Willard & Son Towing which is now CAA Niagara.

Fast forward to the 1970's and the cars Bill Sr. and his son Al would own and maintain would be those driven by the family's third generation ... Bill Willard and later his sister Tammy. Today Bill's son BJ has run a limited schedule with his cousin Cody McPherson won the King of the Crates Champion last weekend and leads the Overall Points going into the final point event.

The Season Point Finale for the Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modifiieds honors John Spencer who was an up and coming racer who passed away as a result of a racing accident in 1953 at the former Stamford Park in his home town of Niagara Falls. Later that season and to coincide with the final points event of the season for the Modifieds, his crew created an Annual Memorial Award.

Presented annually until the 1965 season, the award was lost until 1999 when former Merrittville owner Ken Kavanagh and his son – Reunion Committee Chairman Rick recovered it and restored it in time for presentation once again in 1999.

Three drivers have won the Spencer Memorial twice beginning with Murray Stricker (1954 and 1955) with George Winger also taking back to back wins (1958 and 1959) and in the modern era 2008 and 2011 winner Larry Lampman. Mike Bowman has won it three times with Pete Bicknell taking top spot on 6 occasions.

In addition to Jerry Winger, one time winners include former drivers Bill Rafter, Sandy McPherson and Lloyd Holt. Chad Brachmann, Fred Carleton and last year's winner Mat Williamson are still active and would like to add their names a second time.

In the overall points – Williamson leads Brachmann going into the final point event.

Other races to watch is the Turn 4 Collision 4 Cylinder Triple Crown Series in addition to the overall as Leroy Buscumb looks to stay on top in both while the Hoosier Stock Title has three drivers with a shot – leader Mark Fawcett, defending champion Kevin Knapp and Billy Hogue.
Jeff May has a comfortable lead in the J&S Heating and Air Conditioning Modified Lites over multi-time Champion Josh Sliter.

Brian's Tire Repair Night begins when the gates open at 5:30. Showtime is 7PM.

Merrittville Speedway is located at 2371 Merrittville Highway in Thorold. For directions click on or call 905-892-8266 or via e mail –

For all the news on Merrittville Speedway's 63rd Consecutive Season in 2014 – visit Race fans and Race teams alike can follow Merrittville on Face Book ( Speedway) and Twitter (
Join us this season on a Saturday Night for a LUCAS OIL WEEKLY RACING SERIES EVENT featuring FIVE Divisions with local heroes and up and coming new stars. Make your plans ... call your friends and enjoy a staycation at the speedway with plenty of free parking and camping spots – a night at the races is so much fun and so close to home!

MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS The 2014 63rd Anniversary Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series for Merrittville Speedway's 5 Divisions is brought to race fans and racers by division sponsors – Bobcat of Hamilton, Rick's Delivery, J&S Heating and Air Conditioning, Hoosier Tire Canada and Turn 4 Collision in addition to many marketing partners Visit them at . and visit them when you require their products and/or services.

Lucas Oil Products is one the fastest growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry featuring a premium line of oils, greases and problem solving additives.

Through innovative product research and development along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top selling additive in the industry.

Look for Lucas Oil Products at your favorite automotive retailer or maintenance centre including B&C Truck Centre, Drummond Home Hardware, KC Auto Parts, RCM Racing Equipment and Tim Phillips Garage

Canadian Racing Archive Project.


HTML ezBlock

Powered by EzPortal