Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here

Author Topic: Duane Cinnamon Opens the 2017 OMRS Schedule with a Main Event Win  (Read 1228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 15718
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Duane Cinnamon Opens the 2017 OMRS Schedule with a Main Event Win

By Jim Clarke, Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media


On the heels of a strong 2016 season that saw perennial fan favourite John Baker Jr. capture the tour championship, the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – opened its 2017 schedule Saturday, May 20th at Sunset Speedway.


Close to a dozen teams from the popular open-wheeled group signed-in to chase the checkered flag at the raceway north of the GTA. Before he was able to turn a green flag lap under race conditions, the reworked #63 machine of JBJ suffered mechanical woes and was sidelined for the day. Qualify event wins were recorded by Brad Stevenson and Duane Cinnamon, who each finished in second position in the preliminary rounds they didn’t win.


The OMRS main event got underway with former series champion Rob Warnes and Randy Hollingsworth on the front row. Coming from the staging area in 5th spot, Cinnamon – who had a number of strong showings last year – was able to close the deal and take his first checkered flag with the series. The driver took to social media after the event to thank everyone who helped put everything together.


“What a great way to start the 2017 race season,” Cinnamon said in a post on his Facebook profile. “A lot of work over the last few months went into getting the modified ready for the track. I can’t thank everyone enough for their help and making the car as good as it was. If it wasn’t for our sponsors and friends, we wouldn’t have made it to the track.”


Chris Burrows, Connor James, Hollingsworth, Rob Warnes, Craig Stevenson, Brad Stevenson, Rick Warnes and Willow Barberstock rounded-out the finishing order.


Ontario Modifieds Racing Series notebook: Last season’s point standing runner-up Stu Robinson Jr. was missing from the starting line-up. He was part of the Short Track U.S. Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway…The OMRS teams will make their first of the year – Saturday, May 27th – at its unofficial home track, as part of the 50th Anniversary Season at Peterborough Speedway.


2017 Ontario Modifieds Racing Series schedule


Saturday, May 20th:               Sunset Speedway – Spring Velocity

Event winner: #41, Duane Cinnamon

Saturday, May 27th:               Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, June 10th:              Peterborough Speedway

                                                Test a Mod Day, 11:00 to 2:00

                                                OMRS Racing, 6:00

Saturday, June 24th:              Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, July 1st:                  Flamboro Speedway – Canada Day Special

Saturday, July 15th:                Peterborough Speedway

Saturday, July 22nd:               Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, August 5th:             Flamboro Speedway

Saturday, August 19th:           Peterborough Speedway

                                                Toonie Admission/Fan Appreciation Night

Saturday, August 26th:           Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, September 23rd:    Sunset Speedway – Fall Velocity

                                                Qualifying heats

Sunday, September 24th:      Sunset Speedway – Fall Velocity

                                                Last chance qualifying and feature


Fans can find full series details at Clarke Motorsports Communications is proud to represent Ontario Modifieds Racing Series 2017 season.

Canadian Racing Archive Project.


HTML ezBlock

Powered by EzPortal