Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here

Author Topic: Another Main Event, Another First Time Main Event Winner on the 2017 OMRS Tour  (Read 1233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 15718
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Another Main Event, Another First Time Main Event Winner on the 2017 OMRS Tour

By Jim Clarke, Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media


And the streak continues.


Saturday, July 1st another first timer took the checkered flag, as Stu Robinson Jr. took the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series – powered by Torque Builders Inc. – feature win at Flamboro Speedway.


A rainy start to the day limited the amount of practice the teams received and forced changes to the day’s schedule, but it couldn’t delay the inevitable result. Taking the green flag from the inside of the front row – in just his second main event start of the season – Robinson Jr. would grab an early lead in the tour’s first race of the year at the venerable Hamilton, Ontario area oval.


The pace was slowed by just one caution flag during the 25-lap distance, when the cars of former series champion Rob Warnes and Randy Hollingsworth collided and became hooked together. It took track officials a bit of time to get the cars separated, but things went clean and green through the rest of the race distance. Even though he had come from deep in the field, Brad Stevenson was in touch with the leader for the closing stages of the event, but couldn’t find his way past.


Robinson Jr. – who was named the top first-year runner with the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series after his second-place finish in the 2016 standings – took his first career OMRS checkered flag over Stevenson, Rick Warnes, Duane Cinnamon and Mark Gordon. Connor James, Chris Burrows, Willow Barberstock, Craig Stevenson, Randy Hollingsworth and Rob Warnes completed the finishing order.


Ontario Modifieds Racing Series notebook: Chris Burrows and Mark Gordon scored qualifying heat race wins at Flamboro…The series returns to action Saturday, July 15th at Peterborough Speedway.


2017 Ontario Modifieds Racing Series schedule


Saturday, May 20th:               Sunset Speedway – Spring Velocity

Main event winner: #41, Duane Cinnamon (1st career win)

Saturday, May 27th:               Peterborough Speedway

Main event winner: #77, Brad Stevenson (1st career win)


Saturday, June 10th:              Peterborough Speedway

                                                Test a Mod Day, 11:00 to 2:00

                                                OMRS Racing, 6:00

Main event winner: #52, Mark Gordon (1st career win)

Saturday, June 24th:              Peterborough Speedway

Main event winner: #99, Linc Brown (1st career win)


Saturday, July 1st:                  Flamboro Speedway – Canada Day Special

Main event winner: #68, Stu Robinson Jr. (1st career win)

Saturday, July 15th:                Peterborough Speedway

Saturday, July 22nd:               Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, August 5th:             Flamboro Speedway

Saturday, August 19th:           Peterborough Speedway

                                                Toonie Admission/Fan Appreciation Night

Saturday, August 26th:           Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, September 23rd:    Sunset Speedway – Fall Velocity

                                                Qualifying heats

Sunday, September 24th:      Sunset Speedway – Fall Velocity

                                                Last chance qualifying and feature


Fans can find full series details at Clarke Motorsports Communications is proud to represent Ontario Modifieds Racing Series 2017 season.

Photo attachment: Jim Clarke – Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media


A week after making his first start of the 2017 season at Peterborough Speedway, Stu Robinson Jr. (#68) became the latest driver to claim his first career OMRS main event win – Saturday, July 1st – at Flamboro Speedway

Canadian Racing Archive Project.


HTML ezBlock

Powered by EzPortal