Attention: Guests by accessing CRO, you agree to the site terms. Please read the terms of CRO Click Here

Author Topic: Flamboro Speedway – July 14, 2018 Recap  (Read 999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CanadianRacingOnline

  • What Should Be Here????
  • Administrator
  • Series Owner
  • *****
  • Posts: 15718
  • 13 Seasons we have been around for.
Flamboro Speedway – July 14, 2018 Recap
« on: July 20, 2018, 10:45:13 AM »
Flamboro Speedway – July 14, 2018 Recap

While the night was highlighted by a great autograph session during intermission, the action before and after was just as impressive.

Grisdale Race Products Late Model

Starting at the back using this weekend as a test session for next weekend’s APC Auto Parts United Late Models of Ontario Tour London Recreational Racing 100, Josh Stade made his way to the front carefully to score the victory ahead of Mark Burbridge, Gary Elliott, and Chris Howse. Chris Bochseler came back to finish sixth after a late-race spin ahead of Matt Lockwood, Allie Ditner, Mike Klotz, and Nick Troback. Kevin Albers dominated the first half of the event, before falling victim to a mechanical issue. Mike Westwood failed to finish following an early race incident.

Matt Lockwood came back after his incident in the first feature to win the second event ahead of Chris Bochsler, Mark Burbridge, Chris Howse, Josh Stade, and Gary Elliott. Kevin Albers borrowed Mike Westwood’s car, driving his way through the field to finish seventh ahead of Nick Troback, Mike Klotz, and Allie Ditner.

Notably, sophomore competitor Hudson Nagy failed to start either of the features after problems in practice.

By using a borrowed ride, Kevin Albers holds onto the points lead, just two points ahead of Mike Lockwood. Mark Burbridge sits third (-15), followed by Bill Pearsall/Chris Bochseler, and Gary/David Elliott.

Ray’s Auto Centre & Towing Super Stocks

Flamboro Speedway got their third straight different feature winner as Jake Watson picked up the win in the first feature ahead of Brad Collison, Bobby Mercer, Randy Rusnell, Justin Collison, Carson Nagy, Dennis Cybalski, RJ Croteau, and AJ Miller.

Bobby Mercer would make the last lap pass to edge Jake Watson for the victory in the second feature, with Randy Rusnell finishing third despite getting shuffled back early. Justin Collison led some laps en route to placing fourth ahead of Brad Collison, Carson Nagy, Dennis Cybalski, RJ Croteau, and AJ Miller.

The pair of podiums for Watson will keep the No. 89 at the top of the points standing as he and Andy Kamrath lead Brad and Justin Collison by just three points. Bobby Mercer and Steve Cashmore now sit third in the standings, 19 points out of the lead. Randy Rusnell is fourth, followed by RJ Croteau. 

Klotz Auto Repair & Engine Machine Shop Mini Stock

After a close-up runner last weekend, Jake Watson crossed the finish line first in the Mini Stock feature, but was disqualified in post-race technical inspection. This would hand the victory over to Jake Gilbert. Shawn Taylor was next in line, followed by Wayde Thorne, John Istead, Karl Sault, Kaitlyn Wallace, Rich Schwartzenburg, Mike Gilmour, Jonathan Ayrton, Mike Hooper, Mark Klotz, Tyler Lewis, Wendy Adams, and Kyle DaSilva. The following drivers failed to finish the feature – Matt Young, Austin Penney, Michael Kenny, and Erik DellaRiva.

Shawn Taylor grabbed the early lead in the second feature, edging Jake Watson to score the victory. John Istead finished third, followed by Karl Sault, Jonathan Ayrton, Rich Schwartzenburg, Mike Hooper, Mike Gilmour, Wendy Adams, Kyle DaSilva, and Tyler Lewis. Kaitlyn Wallace, Matt Young and Jake Gilbert would fail to finish after a mid-race incident on the backstretch. Other drivers failing to finish include Wayde Thorne, Michael Kenny, and Mark Klotz. Austin Penney and Erik DellaRiva did not take the green flag.

Shawn Taylor’s victory gives him a nine point advantage over Jake Gilbert in the points standings. Rich/Billy Schwartzenburg sit third (-44) ahead of Matt Young (-51), and Jonathan Ayrton (-61).

McClurkin Properties Cambridge Pure Stock

After coming close over the past several weeks, Courtney Scott would break through to victory lane in the first feature ahead of Ryan Hillar, Dylan Sharpe, Clinton Kerkhoff, Leo Labarbera, Travis Hofstetter, Dale Lucas, Bill Rutherford, John Cote, Blake Near, Danny Shantz, Greg Hawryrlyshyn, and Aaron Hachey. The following drivers failed to finish – Jeff Miller, Mark Thorne, and Jared Bodnar. Blair Mayhew was dropped to the rear after being assessed a post-race penalty.

Fresh off of his “STOCK” Car Nationals victory, Dylan Sharpe would make his way through the field to score the victory in the second feature. Dale Lucas finished second after leading some laps ahead of Blair Mayhew, Clinton Kerkhoff, Jeff Miller, Danny Shantz, Courtney Scott, John Cote, Ryan Hillar, and Leo Labarbera who got sideways twice on the crazy start to the event. Bill Rutherford finished 11th, followed by Aaron Hachey. The following drivers failed to finish – Blake Near, Jared Bodnar, Greg Hawrylyshy, Travis Hofstetter, and Mark Thorne.

Dale Lucas now leads the team of Ryan Hillar and Danny Schantz by 50 points, with Courtney Scott third in the standings ahead of Leo Labarbera, and Bill Rutherford.

Pro 4 Modifieds

A familiar face visited victory lane in the first feature, as Brian Nanticoke picked up the win ahead of Mark Lucas, Rodney Rutherford, Dan Pettit, Dave Hodgkinson, Cliff Hodgkinson, and Shannon Morris.

The second feature as Dan Pettit take over the lead at Lap 2, holding onto take the victory despite being challenged in the late stages by Rodney Rutherford. Mark Lucas finished third, while Cliff Hodgkinson came back to place fourth after a mid-race spin. Dave Hodgkinson was fifth, followed by Shannon Morrison and Brian Nanticoke.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

Grabbing the early advantage after starting pole, Mike Podd led flag-to-flag en route to the victory in the first feature. He didn’t have it easy, though, as Steve Trendell challenged him throughout. Darryl Henwood finished third, followed by M Wright, Brian Atkinson, John Karley, Amanda Stoner, S Gibson, Brian Watson and B Stoner. Unfortunately, Bob Gilbert was unable to complete the race due to mechanical issues.

Steve Trendell got the ultimate revenge, coming back to win the second feature ahead of Mike Podd, Daryl Henwood, Brian Atkinson, John Karley, Brian Watson, Amanda Stoner, S Gibson, B Stoner and M Wright. Gilbert would not take the green flag. 

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming the features, and continuing to post videos on YouTube. You can see her videos at

The action at Flamboro Speedway isn’t set to slow down as this Saturday, July 21 will be the APC Auto Parts United Late Models of Ontario Tour presented by Grisdales Race Products London Recreational Racing 100.

The last time the stars of the APC Series tour were at Flamboro, it was an action-packed night with J.R. Fitzpatrick taking the win ahead of Matt Pritiko and Shawn Chenoweth. The field will be filled with stars once again, including NASCAR star Ken Schrader who be driving the No. 44 Laking Motorsports entry.

Also at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday night will be Mini Stocks and Pure Stocks.

Gate details and admission prices, along with the full schedule for Flamboro Speedway this season can be found on the track’s website at

Be sure to keep up with the latest by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at

Race Report by Ashley McCubbin

Canadian Racing Archive Project.

Flamboro Speedway – July 14, 2018 Recap
« on: July 20, 2018, 10:45:13 AM »


HTML ezBlock

Powered by EzPortal